This is the old website of UNU Institute of Advanced Studies, which is now part of the new UNU Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS).
Please visit the new UNU-IAS website at

A strategic think tank for the UN and its agencies
   Home / Postgraduate Programme / Faculty
                Share This

TEXT SIZE  Increase   Decrease

Master of Science in Environmental Governance wtih Specialization in Biodiversity

Core Faculty
Govindan Parayil PhD in Science and Technology Studies,
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, USA
Jose A Puppim de Oliveira
(Programme Coordinator)

PhD in Planning,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA

Abel Barasa Atiti PhD in Environmental Studies,
Macquarie University, Australia
Christopher Doll PhD in Remote Sensing,
University College London, UK
Kaoru Ichikawa PhD in Agriculture,
The University of Tokyo, Japan
Norichika Kanie PhD in Media and Governance,
Keio University, Japan
Manu Verghese Mathai PhD in Energy and Environmental Policy,
University of Delaware, USA
Raquel Moreno-Penaranda PhD in Energy and Resources, University of California, Berkeley, USA
Aki Suwa PhD in Planning Studies,
University College London, University of London, UK
Faculty (UNU-IAS Staff not based in Yokohama)
Anthony Gross DPhil candidate in Politics,
St. Antony’s College, University of Oxford, UK
Sam Johnston LL.M. in Public International Law,
University College London, University of London, UK
Unnikrishnan Payyappallimana PhD in International Development,
Yokohama National University, Japan
Ameyali Ramos PhD in Environmental Policy and Governance Systems,
Oxford University, UK
Suneetha M. Subramanian

PhD in Agricultural Economics,
University of Agricultural Sciences, India

Marjo Vierros PhD in Marine Biology,
University of Wales, UK
Affiliated Faculty (UNU-IAS Visiting Faculty)
Kazuhiko Takeuchi
PhD in Agrobiology,
The University of Tokyo, Japan
Salvatore Arico
PhD in Marine Environment and Resources,
Stazione Zoologica ‘Anton Dohrn’, Italy
Miguel Esteban
Waseda University
PhD in Coastal Engineering,
Yokohama National University, Japan
David Leary
The University of New South Wales
PhD in Law,
Macquarie University, Australia
Darryl Macer 

PhD in Biochemistry,
University of Cambridge, UK

Balakrishna Pisupati 
National Biodiversity Authority, India
PhD in Genetics,
Osmania University, India
Per Stromberg

PhD in Environmental Economics,
University of Cambridge, UK

Invited Faculty
Peter Bridgewater
Joint Nature Conservation Committee
PhD in Botany,
University of Durham, UK
A Damodaran
Indian Institute of Management Bangalore
PhD in Economics,
University of Kerala, India
Hwan Ok Ma
International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO)

PhD in Forest Resources Economics,
University of Washington, USA

Masahiro Matsuura
The University of Tokyo
PhD in Urban and Regional Planning,
Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), USA
Volker Mauerhofer Doctorate in Laws,
University of Graz, Austria
Carla Pereira

Dottorato di Ricerca (PhD),
Università Degli Studi della Tuscia, Italy

Home  |   About Us  |  Research  |  Fellowships  |  Publications  |  Events  |  Information Resources
Copyright © 1996-2013 UNU-IAS All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer  |  Terms of Use
     UNU-IAS Intranet Homepage
Site by XiMnet