This is the old website of UNU Institute of Advanced Studies, which is now part of the new UNU Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability (UNU-IAS).
Please visit the new UNU-IAS website at

A strategic think tank for the UN and its agencies
   Home / Research / Winners of the 2013 Young Scientist Award Announced
                Share This

Winners of the 2013 Young Scientist Award Announced
TEXT SIZE  Increase   Decrease

The Prosper.Net-Scopus Young Scientist Award in Sustainable Development is given annually to young scientists or researchers, based in the Asia-Pacific region, who have made significant contributions in the area of Sustainable Development. The award is open to those researchers who recently completed their Ph.D. (within a span of 5 years) and are engaged in graduate education and research activities that emphasize sustainable development.

For 2013, awards were given in Water, Transport, and Information and Communication Technology (ICT) for Sustainable Development.

The winners and runners-up presented their research on 19 August 2013 in Singapore at a symposium hosted by Nanyang Technological University at the Nanyang Environment and Water Research Institute (NTU-NEWRI). The awards were given the same day.

The list of winners and runners-up follows.


Winner: Shi Lei
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

First runner up: Viswanathan Natrayasamy
Anna University, India

Second runner up: Bing-Jie Ni
University of Queensland, Australia


Winner: Liangfei Xu
Tsinghua University, People's Republic of China

First runner up: Anantharaj Ramalingam
University of Malaya, Malaysia


Despite numerous nominations, no winner was chosen in this category.

Winners are chosen on the basis of 3 criteria: number of citations, number and quality of publications and patents, and documented social impact. They receive a cash award and are offered a fellowship from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation which provides travel and living expenses to spend up to eighteen months collaborating with any research group of the recipient’s choosing in Germany.

More information on ProSPER.Net available here.

For more information:
ProSPER.Net-Scopus Awards Secretariat 
Home  |   About Us  |  Research  |  Fellowships  |  Publications  |  Events  |  Information Resources
Copyright © 1996-2013 UNU-IAS All Rights Reserved. Disclaimer  |  Terms of Use
     UNU-IAS Intranet Homepage
Site by XiMnet